Out with the Old, In with the New

I find it hard to believe that it is now halfway through January as I am writing my first blog of 2013.  I have had a very therapeutic break over Christmas and New Year.  I made sure that I surrounded myself with the people who help me keep perspective, who make me laugh and who make a difference in my life.  I have taken time to reflect on my own priorities, on who I am and what I’m really about; both personally and professionally.  And I have made a positive choice to address my major personality flaw.

I would like to introduce you to my superhero alter ego.  Do you know her?  The girl who seems unaware of how many hours are actually in a day.  Who resembles a human tornado as she passes through the office.  Who places unrealistic expectations on herself and can often be found literally or metaphorically tearing her hair out.  I know her very well.

In 2013 I resolve to accept that I am not a superhero – not least of all because I really cannot carry off the pants over the tights look!  I cannot do it all by myself, and more importantly nobody expects me to except me.  I am good at coming up with ideas and trying something new, and can generally persuade others to come on the journey with me so long as I stop for long enough to actually involve them.

So my desire for 2013 is to see this Mental Health SLT blog evolve from a place to document my own thoughts and experiences into a forum for anyone who wishes to blog about Speech and Language Therapy in Mental Health.  So watch out if I work with you already – you’re probably on my list!

8 thoughts on “Out with the Old, In with the New

  1. Good lessons there for all of us, the superhero is self limiting and also limits others who feel they cannot keep up. Excellent reminder to share leadership and actions, brings the whole team into play – sum being greater than the parts: although remember that just once in a while we need the superhero, so don’t loose her completely.

  2. Pingback: New year, new bloggers, new ideas | weeklyblogclub

  3. Pingback: Out with the old, in with the new | weeklyblogclub

  4. Pingback: A new venture – January 2013 « scothealthmonthly

  5. Pingback: One Year On | mentalhealthslt

Leave a Reply

