What’s in a Name?

I feel that I have been surrounded by conversations about psychiatric diagnosis lately. The recent publication of DSM5 has raised some great concerns on this topic. An article in last month’s Guardian prompted strong reactions from some. And in the context of my own professional practice, I have spent a long time in conversations with colleagues about a complex individual with a raft of possible diagnoses – none of which seem to sit quite comfortably.

I have been aware for some time now that I appear to hold contradictory views on diagnostic labelling.  On one hand, I am passionate about accurate differential diagnosis to ensure each person I see gets the most appropriate intervention.  On the other hand, I have always advocated that the power is in the description rather than the label.  What exactly do this person’s difficulties look like? And how do they impact on his or her daily life?  Further, I take real exception to people referring to individuals by their diagnosis as if it defines them – terms like epileptic or schizophrenic get me really annoyed!

I have met several individuals and families over the years who are desperately seeking a diagnosis because they feel that a label will give them an explanation, a future direction and access to services.  However, I have also worked with individuals who have been inaccurately diagnosed and this label has had a negative impact on their life, often due to the assumptions that people have made about them based on that diagnosis. And I know a significant number of people who would have their needs best met by a certain service but are denied access because of the presence or absence of a diagnostic label.

I have been wondering if one of the reasons this is such a contentious issue is our attempt to treat the mental and physical aspects of a person in the same manner. Being diagnosed with diabetes, for example, will explain the physical symptoms a person is experiencing, however, is this true for mental health problems? Does a diagnosis of depression explain why you feel the way you do, or does it just label what you already know? Is this the same or different from the impact of getting a physical diagnosis? This is something that I will continue to mull over, possibly for years to come. However, it is my firm belief that what people really value is the feeling that the difficulties they are experiencing are understood by someone; that they are being taken seriously, and I am not convinced we always need to label something to be able to do this.

8 thoughts on “What’s in a Name?

  1. Pingback: What’s in a Name? | weeklyblogclub

  2. Pingback: I love technology, art and learning! | weeklyblogclub

  3. The whole labels thing is a messy business. We’ve recently begun working with Citizen Panels for Social Services in Wales has been an education with different groups going for learning disability / learning difficulty. It’s been a minefield, but certainly one that’s made me think about labels and how we use them in a different way. Great blog!

    • Thanks for your comment and encouragement. Labels around what are classified as “mental disorders” unfortunately also have a tendency to be associated with social stigma and in the attempt to escape this, new labels emerge which can muddy the waters further – the learning disabilities/ difficulties issue being a key example.

      • You explained the issue well.
        I think that there is a tendency to see someone as their illness or chronic condition rather than as a person who has an illness/condition; and that tendency is much greater when an illness or condition is one that affects the mind rather than the rest of the body because of the lack of understanding.

  4. I’ve mulled this one over a lot as well, being part of a team that doles out these labels. I sometimes think of them as a necessary evil in order to get access to services…. but also I think if it were me I would want a concrete label to understand something that is so hard to conceptualise. I may just be a bit simple but I find it hard to put an entry in my semantic store without a specific place to store it!!
    We still need to do some work on getting the labels right more (most) of the time though.

  5. Pingback: Settling in – Scottish healthcare blogs in February | scothealthmonthly

  6. Pingback: One Year On | mentalhealthslt

Leave a Reply

