One Year On

365 days, 21 posts, 2133 views in 36 countries, 28 comments, 23 mentions, 28 followers, 202 shares, 25 ‘likes’, and a partridge in a pear tree!

It doesn’t seem like a year since I started my blog, but they do say that the years get shorter the older you get. As I had a significant birthday this year it appears that this particular adage is holding true. Yet, despite the fact that the year has disappeared at lightening speed, I feel that I have learned a lot.

I have learned that blogging is a powerful and effective way to promote and discuss the professional issues I feel passionate about, and make connections with like minded people.

I have learned that I place exceptionally high expectations upon myself and need to moderate these to an acceptable level – Out with the Old, In with the New.

I have learned that people are actually interested in what I do – A Tweet in the Life – and that I can write in a way others find entertaining and thought provoking – What’s in a Name?.

I have learned that I can inspire others to contribute to my blog and share their thoughts and experiences too – Therapy Through the Looking Glass – and that I can be quite persuasive as well (more guest blogs expected later this year).

I have learned that writing a good blog is a craft and takes time; and gauging the right length to make it interesting and informative without boring the reader to tears is not easy.

I have learned that it is challenging to write in a professional capacity and ensure that I am not breeching anyone’s confidentiality or trust – Adding Fuel to the Flames and Communication Matters.

I have learned that I am part of a growing community of Allied Health Professionals who are spreading our message about the vital role we play in supporting the mental and physical health of people in our communities – AHPScot Blog and Ayrshire Health to name but a few.

But most of all I have learned that blogging is something I really enjoy doing and want to continue, and I intend to bring as many other people along for the journey with me as I can. So buckle up people; here comes Year 2!

One thought on “One Year On

  1. Pingback: Summertime and the blogging is easy | weeklyblogclub

Leave a Reply

