Communication at Risk?

I am delighted to be able to share this blog by another mentalhealthslt about her role working with people with dementia. Joy has been an inspiration and an invaluable source of information for me (and I know to others) on my professional journey as a Speech and Language Therapist in Mental Health. Joy has also agreed to contribute to future blogs on mentalhealthslt so look out for more in the future…

Communication at Risk?

Speech and Language Therapy in Dementia #SLTDementia

Joy Harris           

 

P1I have always felt privileged that I have a job which is never dull and has challenge and reward in equal measure. There is no such thing as a typical week. I work with people newly diagnosed with dementia who have significant communication difficulties. These are most often people diagnosed with a Fronto- temporal type dementia or with language deficits associated with an atypical Alzheimer’s .I have an additional role of Clinical lead for Dementia in Lothian. This means that I constantly juggle day to day clinical work with more strategic work on developing the awareness of the speech and language therapy role in dementia and increasing the knowledge and skills of speech and language therapy . I am most passionate about increasing our role in facilitating communication in people with…

View original post 552 more words

Leave a Reply

