Simply the Best

It’s been a good long while since I last blogged. This has been partially due to being extremely short on time recently, but also because I had slightly lost direction and was unsure what stories I still had to tell. However, it seems that despite my recent silence, interest in my blog has remained with almost 600 “hits” since my last post. This has reminded me why I started this blog…

…there are still very few Speech & Language Therapists working in the field of adult mental health [so] The purpose of mentalhealthslt is to share my experiences not only with other Speech & Language Therapists but with anyone who works in or has an interest in mental health.

So it’s about time I got back to doing just that!

One of the things I regularly do with people is help them to focus on positive situations and work to their strengths rather than dwelling on negatives and difficulties. A friend of mine also writes a blog which is titled “Rachel’s Three Beautiful Things” which does exactly what is says on the tin. Rachel writes about three beautiful things that happened to her that day – an idea I love. So I am going to borrow the concept (which she also borrowed so I don’t think she will mind) for the next wee while to help get this blog back on track.

By highlighting the three best things each week about being a Speech and Language Therapist working in mental health services, and hopefully encouraging other colleagues to do the same, I believe that I can continue with my mission to spread awareness and develop understanding of the unique and valuable role we play.

So here goes. Here are here the 3 best things about this week…

1. The Sweet Sound of Success – About 18 months ago I met a lady called Sarah* who had become mute following a significant psychological trauma. She had not uttered a word for over 10 years and had become completely socially isolated and reliant on her family for even basic tasks. This week marked my final session with a now very talkative Sarah* who is living her life to the full having rediscovered herself and her role as wife, mother and grandmother.

2. Group Fever – There are a significant number of people with Asperger Syndrome who access mental health services. Many have very little understanding of their diagnosis and can find it difficult to participate in mainstream groups run by the community mental health teams. From next week I am running a group along with an Occupational Therapist and a Support Worker specifically to meet the needs of these clients. We had our final planning meeting this week and everyone is so positive, excited and enthusiastic – it’s infectious!!

3. All for One – This week I have been working in partnership with a broad range of people including a University Disability Advisor, staff in the local library, family members, nurses and psychologists to name but a few. These partnerships help me to ensure that my clients get the best possible service from me and from others, and being able to do that is one of the best things about my job.

*Sarah is a pseudonym to protect client confidentiality

3 thoughts on “Simply the Best

  1. Pingback: Simply the Best | weeklyblogclub

  2. Pingback: Churchill, Lemons, Lists and Sunshine | weeklyblogclub

  3. Pingback: A Sensational Life | mentalhealthslt

Leave a Reply

